Sickness

I spent the last two days practically at the hostel room with a nice flu and sore throat; coughing, sneezing, and having a headache isn’t particularly fun at all times. However, being a sick person has its perks, you get to at least enjoy a healthy amount of sleep (I define healthy as more than 8 hours a day – which is impossible to be achieved during mugging season; you are considered lucky to get even six) and some rest from the hustle and bustle of what we call Singaporean JC Student life.

Being sick makes me realise one thing though, which is how much time I actually invest each day at school. I mean, we spend so much time in school that we leave the hostel before its bright, and come back when its already dark. When I woke up this morning with the sun in my eyes, I was surprised to see the views around my hostel to be so bright and cheerful (truthfully, it reminds me that I don’t really have a life – all the sights around here that I see was mostly dark); and I also noted that in the bright sunlight, the surroundings of the hostel is not so grim and dark after all.

Is that why I feel so down and depressed all the time? All I mostly see is an environment full of stress (as in school) and a dead and sleeping view outside my window (at night and in the early mornings); is that why I have become a person who finds it so hard to see the subtle beauty in life anymore? Perhaps, I should question humanity’s unspoken convention in relating everything negative with the darkness. But, where indeed is my justification in questioning it, since that particular association is so innate in me that I did not even notice it until now?

I guess it doesn’t matter if you have been blindly following, but once your eyes have been opened, it is then up to you to question, verify and then rebuild your knowledge from the bottom up once more. Or, maybe I am just too free, since I am sick to think these stuff up… Haha…

 

 

Leave a Reply

